Why can’t the plot come together

Hi there,

Well, as said in the first few days, I am a writer, maybe that is wrong, it should probably say that I want to be a writer. I mean, anyone can put words onto paper but it doesn’t mean that you are a writer nor does it mean you have the right to call yourself one. I think I might have to explain this further and please note, this is just my opinion.

I love to write. I love the thoughts running around in my head, changing but always there not really making any sense. They are apart of me and if it all went quiet one day, I think I be very upset, very upset indeed. However, I do not call myself a writer and there  is one simple reason for it, I do not think I have earned the right to do so.

My writing is done very far between, apart from this Blog, I haven’t written properly since NaNoWriMo and that was pushing it. I have a hard time to get myself focussed enough too sit down and write. I think it is because I see myself as someone doing it for laughs, not really serious about it. I do not see my life being controlled by it. I am not sure enough in my ability to write to try and put my writing down, I don’t enter competitions and I do not think I have faith in myself to be able to take the lows with the highs.

As a person, I have never been that good at taking criticism. It is a flaw I have and I know that. I also know that in normal life situations, you will be criticised especially when it comes to some kind of Art, which writing is.It is a craft, an Artistic view on something. I like to think that since I love Art but I cannot draw, writing is the Art I am meant to do. I also know that my ability to write lacks certain things and I am always trying to improve this. This includes my knowledge of grammar and spelling and just general literature things.

I have never read the classics that were not forced upon me by school and to be honest, I find some of them boring. I also sometimes do not “get” them either. What I see out of a book is apparently not what everyone else sees. Now, this is fine as I know that everyone takes a book or story and comes from it with different thoughts and opinions but it is hard to not feel a little out of your depth when your view may be a little bit more than little different.

Basically, it is hard to see myself as this great thing when I do not feel great. I want to feel great and this is one of the big changes I want to make about myself because as I said at the beginning, the thoughts and characters moved  long before I can remember so I have the potential, I just need to push myself to do it.

Paula

This entry was posted in life, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Why can’t the plot come together

  1. I’m right there with ya. hang in there gurl. You got skills.

    • paulasstory says:

      Hiya,

      Thanks for popping by and thanks for the compliment. It feels nice to know that I am not the only one thinking that I may not be what the “ideal” writer may be.

      Thanks again,

      Paula

  2. donnahuebsch says:

    If you want to be a writer one day, then you must begin – don’t worry about shortcomings, flaws, inexperience, etc. The more you write, the more you will gain and hone your skills. Do it!

    • paulasstory says:

      Hiya,

      Yes, that is exactly what I need to do, write. I think it is about pushing myself to get past that hurdle. Thanks for the encouragement, it really does help. I am feeling the love which makes me want to do it.

      Thanks for coming by,

      Paula

  3. I can relate to this post. I sometimes thing that it would be great to make a living writing, then I remember that I have bills to pay, food and rent that people expect every month. Writing for me is a hobby that I didn’t know I liked to do until I started blogging a few years ago. I have always been less then confident in most of what I do, blogging falls in to that as well. I try really hard to write just for me then there is no pressure.

    • paulasstory says:

      Hiya,

      I think that may well be where I am going wrong. I think I am planning to write for an audience, which is good but I am too focussed on it rather than getting something down. I should be thinking that the first draft is for me and the audience sees the finished product, the bit after “my writing” is edited down for audience viewing.

      I am very happy about all these comments I am getting, it is giving me so much more to think about.

      Thank you,

      Paula

  4. One of the first steps in setting goals for oneself is to envision that goal as reality. I want to lose 10 lbs so I try to envision it and behave as if it’s already happened. I eat better and exercise to maintain what I’ve lost. As with any other form of art, anything can be improved upon. A painting, a song, an article or book. It depends on who’s viewing or listening and forming their opinion. With any form of art, it will never be perfect. You will never “arrive” at that place you’re looking to arrive at. If you want to be a writer, envision it and be one. Behave as if you are one and it’ll happen.

    • paulasstory says:

      Hiya,

      Thank you for the advice, I had never looked at it like that. I suppose that seeing that vision makes it that much easier to get the ball rolling to get on that road.

      Thanks again, I will try and use what you said and see if it helps. I’m hoping it will.

      Paula

  5. damyanti says:

    We all feel like this at some point of time. The ones who go on to become authors are those who brush themselves, get up, and write again. You’ll do it, don’t worry, just keep the writing going!

    • paulasstory says:

      Hiya,

      You are right, even the greatest writers must have felt like this but they wouldn’t be the greatest f they hadn’t got on with it and wrote through those feelings. I think it will take some work to not think like do but I aim to work through it.

      Thank you for popping by,

      Paula

  6. gnxmusic says:

    If you are writing. You are a writer.
    If some one is reading what your wrote– You are a writer.
    Don’t ever sell you efforts short. It doesn’t matter how long it takes you to get your plot right. As long as you keep at it.

    If you haven’t read Stephen King On Writing. go read it now. It is all about not giving up.

    • paulasstory says:

      Hiya,

      I really want to read SK’s book ever since I heard about it but have just never remembered when near a book shop. I have heard that it has some great advice in it.

      Thank you for the advice, I will try to remember it when the bad thoughts come into play.

      Paula

  7. last_lines says:

    Paula, read my latest post on my blog. It deals with exactly what you are feeling.
    And yes you are a writer. But as a person striving to follow a creative dream, your own worst enemy is yourself and your internal critic. Don’t judge yourself or your writing against others. There are no rules to being a writer, that is why so many find it difficult to call themselves that. Be gentle with yourself. Believe in yourself. For others to accept you as a writer, you must first accept and acknowledge yourself as a writer.

    • paulasstory says:

      Hiya,

      Thank you so much for the comment. Your Blog post does cover exactly what I am feeling. I do take my writing personally and when thinking about it, comparing it to others, it does not seem to fit but you are right, you are your own maker. Why not make it so that others are trying to compare their own writing to mine. It makes more sense to see it like that than to compare something that might not be the right thing to compare it to.

      Thanks again,

      Paula

Leave a Reply

