Why the bad feeling, belly?

Hi there,

I haven’t been feeling very well today. My stomach has been up and down, round and round so most of the day I have tried to take my mind off of it. I think it is just one of those dodgy days that happens for no reason and it has been a while since my last one.

Since we are on the topic, I shall reveal something else about me that I may have touched on in a previous post but didn’t really go into detail. It isn’t anything awful, just inconvenient and it could be worse but it is part of my life so it gets put in the story.

I have chronic acid reflux. I was diagnosed with it last summer (2010) and I have to take medicine everyday to make sure it is under control. Like I said, it isn’t a major thing, lots of people have acid reflux but since I am only 27, the doctors were a little confused why I would have it bad.

Last year, around March time, I had a feeling that I had something was blocking my throat. To put it bluntly, it felt like their was a cobweb right at the back and it made eating and swallowing food very difficult. I could take only small chunks, the size of say a piece of sweetcorn and that was all. I have grown up used to sore throats and blockages and so thought it would go away. It did, just in time to go to a Blind Restaurant (Which, by the way, if you ever get invited to one, go. It is dinner in pitch black, you are served by blind people and it is supposed to make you aware of your other senses, it really is the best experience and would recommend it to everyone).

I never thought about it again until it came back in May. It was worse that time and never went away until I was admitted into hospital in July. I hadn’t eaten very much in three months and lost almost 3 stone (20kg’s). It was very scary, I was very weak and was being very sick at the point of my stay. I can say that I was very scared indeed and extremely pale. I am not a fan of the sun but I went from normally pale to complete paper white and my new drivers licence has the picture to remind me of it!

Anyway, five days in hospital, an endoscopy, an MRI and lots of tea later, I was free and on medication. So far, I haven’t had the throat of web back yet but I am always watching out for it in case it happens again. I have had difficulty in eating certain things and stop eating when I think things may go north but generally, I am okay.

Stomach upsets are annoying but as long as it isn’t the throat of web or anything serious, I can deal with it. I just hope it doesn’t last too long, that’s all.

Paula

This entry was posted in General, life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why the bad feeling, belly?

  1. djbaroque says:

    I hope you feel better soon, Paula. Your blog is one of my favourites to read. I’ve not heard of a blind restuarant before. It sounds like an experience quite. I don’t know if I’d want to wear my best clobber though! I’ve begun being more adventurous with my culinary choices. I only recently went out for my first Chinese. Something which needs to happen again! Milky took me to this fantastic buffet in a nearby city. The food was cracking – all you can eat for £6-50!

    I know how it can be to be reliant on medication. I suffer with severe atopic excema (the worse my local dermatology team had seen – verbatim quote) and in summer 2008 it became severely infected, to the point where I was almost unable to move. I was on about 20 tablets a day to try and make me better, I was essentially bedbound. I dread to think what you’re going/gone through – I really hope you feel better soon, Paula!

    • paulasstory says:

      Hiya,

      Yes, the blind restaurant seems to be the done thing now. It’s what all the hip people do r something. It is an amazing experience though but is completely pitch black. I don’t even think that when you close your eyes at night, it isn’t completely dark but this place, just wow. If you see one and get the chance, seriously consider it.

      I’m glad you enjoyed your first chinese buffet. I do find them fun although I can’t really eat noodles any more. They are stringy like things and that’s one of the things that I still cannot eat. I feel sad about it but it would be a waste if I went.

      Like I said in my post, I don’t see it as a big thing. It sounds worse than it really is, maybe I make it worse, I don’t know but sometimes it feels like it shouldn’t be made to be a big thing. All illnesses are bad but mine is low on the terms of really bad stuff. Compared to what you seem to go through, it isn’t anything. I hope you are feeling well today too, it sounds like you have a lot to deal with each day.

      Thanks for coming by and sharing this with me,

      Paula.

Leave a Reply

