I’m looking for you, so beware

Hi there,

The title of this isn’t as bad as it sounds unless you are some kind of relative of mine, well, then, get over here, you big lug.

I am a big fan of genealogy and I’m trying to find my long dead family and hopefully some who are still alive. I am focussing on my Dad’s Dad as we know nothing about him nor any family he had, which he did have at one point. He was an older guy, born in 1898 so it is difficult to try to gain any knowledge of him.

My Dad has only faint memories of any stories and only knows where he was born, which is helpful but only a little. I would really like to find out more about him because I know for a fact that I must have distant cousins who are begging for poor relations to come out of the woodwork. I feel it is my mission in life to crawl out and surprise them all by the oddness of our family.

I don’t know where to start though and it looks like it will cost me a small fortune to find out. I either have to go where he lived or buy a small town to get knowledge. I really wish my Dad had been as annoying as I am and asked his Father all these questions. He really should have been thinking about the daughter he would have in 20 years time so he could answer all of her questions.

No, my grandfather was apparently a very personal man, kept himself to himself and didn’t want to share. He had gone through the first world war, got wounded and as far as I know, didn’t fight for the second. He was 40 odd when my Dad was born so at that point, known as an older Dad. I think he died when my Dad was 21, my Mum didn’t even meet him.

I decided ages ago that he would be at the top if  I had a chance to use a time machine. I would go back to probably after the second world war, meet him and ask him all those questions my Dad couldn’t. He would think of me as being rude, brash and too much upfront but I like to know things and I am probably all of those things. It was how I turned out

I wont blame my upbringing but I would have turned out differently if brought up by other people and as far-fetched as it might be, my granddad had something to do with it. He raised my Dad who in turn raised me. I am my grandfathers granddaughter, as they say and I want to get to know him better.

Paula

This entry was posted in General, life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

